So here’s what we’re going to do…

So I met with my mentor on the 2nd, since we meet once a month, and we discussed my new plan for senior project. I was originally going to do a film with my 20 minute script, but problems kept arising so I made a plan to scrap the actors and make an animated storyboard. THAT plan was a straying away from what I really wanted so I made a 5 minute script that I would shoot at home with my family as a cast. This way I could work on my directing, organizing and of course my editing skills. Plus I wanted to be able to use all my equipment I bought for filming. I started shooting some scenes but I realized that there are going to be other problems.

First of all, my family members are very picky and impatient. Especially my mother. A lot of the time, I had to wait for her to get ready and be in the mood to shoot. Another thing I have to work on is the lighting. I have a scene I shot in the morning, and then one I shot at night, with lights. They’re supposed to look like they are the same place at the same time so I will have to re-do the one that’s easier to shoot. Also, my lights look a little yellowish on camera, even if I adjust the white balance. I am shooting in Tungsten light because I like how it has a blue tint to it. It makes everything look colder and darker. I’m planning on shooting the rest of the scenes on Friday, that way we have no school and I can dedicate the whole day to shooting and get whatever is left on Saturday.

Leave a comment